Recognition Award

Suggestions & bug reports for the site.
(If you're unable to login you may post here as a guest with your username in the post)

Postby @B0FH » 11 Oct 2005, 12:57

whoops ;)
I Have A Fully-Charged Cattleprob, And The Temprement Of A Bullsquid - Do You Want To Take Me On?
User avatar

@B0FH
Systems of Hull
Systems of Hull
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: 10 Apr 2005, 18:10
Location: East Yorkshire
Steam ID: b0fh
GfWL/XBoxLive ID: leb0fh

Postby Jasamondo » 11 Oct 2005, 14:27

^_^ Thats the idea of the UT2004 server, to test the bandwith :P But actually, I know more about the source dedi server tbh so the first test wll be on that.

Jasamondo
Spammer
Spammer
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: 23 Aug 2004, 13:51
Location: Kent, UK
GfWL/XBoxLive ID: WotDa

Postby Menacer » 11 Oct 2005, 15:14

I can tell you now you need around 5-8Kb/ps upload per client connected.

On my ADSL connection I can host 4-5 people before the server gets laggy which has a 27-30KB/s upload on my line.

8,16,24,32

Gets laggy with 4 unplayable with 5 people on the server, my pc can handle more but the connection cant.
Image
User avatar

Menacer
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 2351
Joined: 08 Jul 2004, 20:56
Location: UK
Steam ID: Menacer
GfWL/XBoxLive ID: Menacerz
Playstation Network ID: Nacey

Postby @B0FH » 11 Oct 2005, 15:15

tis the downer with ADSL connections :(

SDSL works far better, but costs you an arm, leg, and any other random saleable appendages! :-/
I Have A Fully-Charged Cattleprob, And The Temprement Of A Bullsquid - Do You Want To Take Me On?
User avatar

@B0FH
Systems of Hull
Systems of Hull
 
Posts: 1254
Joined: 10 Apr 2005, 18:10
Location: East Yorkshire
Steam ID: b0fh
GfWL/XBoxLive ID: leb0fh

Postby Jasamondo » 11 Oct 2005, 15:20

lol ok then :P that could be a prob, anything that I could host that i could actually host with my upload speed? same as yours :P

Jasamondo
Spammer
Spammer
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: 23 Aug 2004, 13:51
Location: Kent, UK
GfWL/XBoxLive ID: WotDa

Postby Menacer » 11 Oct 2005, 15:27

Well youll find websites are even slow with those speeds, even though i do just use my personal server as a web-server for friends to dl from. and a downloads machine which rarely gets rebooted and looked at, and sits in the corner of a room downstairs away from me, with a power cable and network cable connected.

Works well for downloads ill tell ya! but dont forget to cap your max upload speed on the server or youll lag yourself :P
Image
User avatar

Menacer
Administrator
Administrator
 
Posts: 2351
Joined: 08 Jul 2004, 20:56
Location: UK
Steam ID: Menacer
GfWL/XBoxLive ID: Menacerz
Playstation Network ID: Nacey

Postby Jasamondo » 11 Oct 2005, 15:32

lol ok then :P

Jasamondo
Spammer
Spammer
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: 23 Aug 2004, 13:51
Location: Kent, UK
GfWL/XBoxLive ID: WotDa

Postby ph3onix » 11 Oct 2005, 20:22

You cant host game servers with an ordinary connection. Most professional game servers are sat in data centres and connected directly to high speed BT lines that spread across the UK.
Dave >>
So be it, threaten no more, to secure peace is to prepare for war.

Image

ph3onix
Lupicinus Werewolf
Lupicinus Werewolf
 
Posts: 223
Joined: 05 Oct 2005, 20:44
Location: Middlesboro, UK

Postby Jasamondo » 12 Oct 2005, 14:28

Yea I know. :P

Jasamondo
Spammer
Spammer
 
Posts: 1619
Joined: 23 Aug 2004, 13:51
Location: Kent, UK
GfWL/XBoxLive ID: WotDa

Postby ph3onix » 12 Oct 2005, 14:30

You do now. :P
Dave >>
So be it, threaten no more, to secure peace is to prepare for war.

Image

ph3onix
Lupicinus Werewolf
Lupicinus Werewolf
 
Posts: 223
Joined: 05 Oct 2005, 20:44
Location: Middlesboro, UK

PreviousNext

Return to Site Feedback

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users

cron